it’s been that kind of day

Don’t get me wrong. I love Fridays. And I especially love my life right now. Work is going great – after 4 months of floating in the unknown realm of starting a new job, I finally feel like I have a purpose. For now, that is solely based on writing a grant that is due in a little over a week (EEK!), but I must forget about that now, because it’s the weekend.

Whew.

I never thought I’d become that person that lived for weekends, wishing away the days of the week just to have 2 days of me (and Joda)-time, but it has come. I love just knowing that for 2 nights, I don’t have to wake up to sit at a desk all day and, if needed, I may sit on my couch and do nothing with no questions asked. Pure. Bliss. This may sound like complaining, but I’m just exhausted. So exhausted that I almost lost all motivation to make myself dinner (big red flag).

You see, my fridge and pantry are pretty bare- out of flour, pasta, eggs, vegetable broth (could be used for the arborio rice I have laying around), most vegetables, there are absolutely no snacks, and I even ran out of olive oil after making this. I’m headed to Denver for the next 2 days and the thought of buying food (let alone going to the grocery store) just to have it sit for the next two days is completely unappetizing. As if miraculously, I stumbled upon this recipe and thought I could muster up enough of the ingredients to make the pesto with some alterations. And, let me tell you, it’s exactly what I needed. This week has been such a whirlwind, the last thing I remember cooking was yesterday morning’s pancakes (if you can call that ‘cooking’) and not much else before… I just can’t remember this week. Luckily, I have an amazing husband and great friend who came to visit and took care of a lot of the cooking for me, but I think I got to a point today where I sincerely forgot how much I love it.

Enter: spinach walnut pesto. A reminder of the fresh, bright flavors of summer against these cold fall-almost-winter nights. A reminder that I love being courageous in the kitchen and making food from scratch and that food doesn’t have to be eloquent or elaborate – just simple flavors for simple nights and simple relaxation.

So, I’m sorry if my thoughts are scattered or broken, it’s just been that kind of day where when everything else has worn me down, I can come back to the comfort of cooking and food, and know I’m going to be okay.

Spinach Walnut Pesto

adapted from bevcooks.com – makes a little over a cup

Ingredients:

6 cups fresh, baby spinach

3 cloves garlic

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1/4 cup fresh grated parmesan cheese

salt and pepper to taste

(you could probably add a bit of lemon juice as well if that strikes your fancy, but I didn’t)

Directions:

All you need to do is add all of these ingredients to a food processor and blend. Taste to adjust salt and pepper seasoning and you’re done! So simple and SO delicious!

I love the flavor of this dish and I love that spinach is the base. And I know I said I had no pasta, but I cleverly stole these shells from a box of mac and cheese, ditched the artificial cheese packet, and added 2 Tablespoons of the pesto to the mix. This can go on pizza, toast (as seen in the beginning of the post), turkey sandwiches, butternut squash- anything! I can’t wait to freeze this pesto and have it throughout the winter.

With love, from Jess’ Kitchen

Leave a Reply

