Revived.

This is a blog that I love.

In recent weeks, I’ve read articles on the interwebs about the death of food writing and how you shouldn’t try and start a food writing career and blah blah blah and I’ve decided I just don’t care. I don’t care if I’m in ‘the know’ or out of ‘the know’ or who I’m trying to be known by. For one second (and maybe forever), I’d like to be me. And, honestly, right now ‘being me’ doesn’t feel like I’m going to be a food writer, but food is something I love.  And coming to a place where I feel okay with great about me and the food I love is really important because most of my life can be related back to it.

So here I am.

Let’s face it. I’ll probably never have awesome pictures on here because I’m really not a photographer. So, if you’re looking for cute pictures, you won’t find them here, and I’m not sorry.

But I do have so much to say about food and the world that we live in – it may be biased or political and sometimes wrong – but isn’t that the point? This is my blog.

I got to take a personality survey this past weekend with a good friend, because it supposedly helps us understand ourselves and how we relate to others better – no wait, it really does. I learned I’m something of an INFP (whatever that means). But what I really took away is that I do a lot better writing down my feelings than I do speaking them. And that’s probably the first thing that’s made a lot of sense to me in a long time. In most situations (especially impassioned ones), the second I open my mouth is the second I stop making sense. I can’t form sentences, I get irrational, and I cannot make words articulate what exactly I’m feeling. But here I can.

Not to mention the absence of my husband has left me enduring many a silent night. Everything is fine – he’s just in the woods for a couple weeks (literally).

So, after many thoughts about whether to revive this site or not, I’ve decided to. Because here is where I can process. And here is where I can dump my day and my thoughts where it will (hopefully) make sense. And I can share food – my passion.

Because there really is no better common ground than food. We all need to eat. Food sustains us – body and soul. It gives us the energy to live joyful, productive lives. It has the power to comfort at the darkest of times but can also torment and provoke. I see food as my method of showing love – that in preparing food for myself and others I am nurturing and fulfilling a basic need and, in doing this, hearts and minds are opened. And that at the end of whatever day we’re having, yeast, flour, and water will always give us bread (and some salt if you want it to be tasty).

These days haven’t been easy. But I am determined to work through them – joyful and productive and well-fed.

Amen.

And here’s what I’ve been eating. This shit is delicious.

Curried Sweet Potato and White Bean Dip

Ingredients:
2 T. olive oil
Heaping 1/2 cup white onions, chopped
Heaping 1 Tablespoon ginger, minced
2 garlic cloves, smashed/minced
1 heaping teas ground cumin
1 teas garam masala
1/2 teas turmeric
1/2 teas coriander
red pepper – to your spiciness liking!
Salt- to taste
1 medium sweet potato
1 can great northern beans
Directions:
Cook sweet potato in oven (whole) with skin on until mushy to the core- 375°F for about an hour. Once it’s done take it out of oven and let icool. Next, saute onions in olive oil in a medium pan. Once they are translucent, add garlic, ginger, cumin, garam masala, turmeric, coriander, and red pepper. Let these cook for about a minute or two while you peel the skin off the sweet potato and cube. Add the beans and cubed, peeled sweet potato to the spice mixture and let all the flavors mix together for a minute or two. Then throw all this stuff in the food processor and blend until smooth (warning – the turmeric will turn most things it touches yellow). Taste and add salt or more spices if you need to!

I’ve stuffed this in naan, I’ve eaten it with eggs, plain on toast, or with chips. It’s really amazing.

With love,

from Jess’ kitchen

Leave a Reply

